

Who can register to vote?

Age

In **England, Northern Ireland and Wales** you can register to vote if you are 17 years old (and in some cases if you are 16). However, you can only vote when you become 18.

In **Scotland** you can register to vote if you are 15 years old (and in some cases if you are 14). You can vote in local elections and elections to the Scottish Parliament when you are 16 and elections to the UK and European Parliaments when you are 18.

Nationality

You qualify to register to vote if you are:

- a British citizen
- an EU citizen resident in the UK
- a qualifying Commonwealth citizen resident in the UK

On page 2-4 is a full list of Commonwealth and European Union countries. If you are a citizen of one of these countries, and resident in the UK, you are eligible to register to vote in UK elections.

To qualify, Commonwealth citizens must be resident in the UK and either have leave to enter or remain in the UK or not require such leave. The definition of a 'Commonwealth citizen' includes citizens of British Crown Dependencies and British Overseas Territories.

Citizens of the European Union (who are not Commonwealth citizens or Citizens of the Republic of Ireland) can vote in European and local elections in the UK, elections to the Scottish Parliament and Welsh and Northern Ireland Assemblies (if they live in those areas) and some referendums (based on the rules for the particular referendum) but are not able to vote in UK Parliamentary general elections.

European Union countries

Austria

Belgium

Bulgaria

Croatia

Cyprus

Czech Republic

Denmark

Estonia

Finland

France

Germany

Greece

Hungary

Ireland

Italy

Latvia

Lithuania

Luxemburg

Malta

Netherlands

Poland

Portugal

Romania

Slovakia

Slovenia

Spain

Sweden

United Kingdom

Commonwealth countries

Antigua and Barbuda

Australia

The Bahamas

Bangladesh

Barbados

Belize

Botswana

Brunei Darussalam

Cameroon

Canada

Cyprus*

Dominica

Fiji Islands**

The Gambia

Ghana

Grenada

Guyana

India

Jamaica

Kenya

Kiribati

Lesotho

Malawi

Malaysia

Maldives

Malta*

Mauritius

Mozambique

Namibia

Nauru

New Zealand

Nigeria

New Zealand

Nigeria

Pakistan

Papua New Guinea

Rwanda

St Kitts & Nevis

St Lucia

St Vincent & The Grenadines

Samoa

Seychelles

Sierra Leone

Singapore

Solomon Islands

South Africa

Sri Lanka

Swaziland

Tonga

Trinidad & Tobago

Tuvalu

Uganda

United Kingdom

United Republic of Tanzania

Vanuatu

Zambia

Zimbabwe**

British Overseas Territories

Anguilla
Bermuda
British Antarctic Territory
British Indian Ocean Territory
British Virgin Islands
Cayman Islands
Falkland Islands
Gibraltar
Montserrat
Pitcairn Island
St Helena and dependencies (Ascension Island and Tristan da Cunha)
South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands

British Crown Dependencies

Sovereign base areas on Cyprus

Turks and Caicos Islands

Isle of Man

The Channel Islands (including Jersey, Guernsey, Sark, Alderney, Herm and the other inhabited Channel Islands).

^{*}Although also EU member states, citizens of Cyprus and Malta are eligible to be registered to vote in all elections held in the UK.

^{**}Citizens of Fiji and Zimbabwe retain their voting rights despite the countries having been suspended from the Commonwealth.